Interviews with Candidates for PCUSA Moderator

The Layman asked each candidate to identify the top five issues at the upcoming PCUSA General Assembly, and share their position on each. (Answers are printed exactly as received – each candidate had a 500-word limit) Six individual articles are available on The Aquila Report – use links to read the interviews for each candidate:... Continue Reading

Christian Century Publishes Critique of PCUSA Document

MESC report “silences some Jews by naming them as difficult. It silences other Jews by presuming to speak for them without having spoken to them.” Two scholars from Vanderbilt Divinity School, Ted A. Smith and Amy-Jill Levine have written an authoriative critique of “Breaking Down the Walls,” a report that will be on the agenda... Continue Reading

Under the PCUSA big tent – will the Lion sleep?

But here’s the thing about a circus: surprise is always possible. Aslan might – He just might – be loosed from His cage. The Presbyterian Church (USA) refers to itself as a “big tent,” an apparent reference to its policies of “inclusiveness and diversity.” Biannually, the denomination’s General Assembly, as all circuses do, offers a... Continue Reading

SBC New President fields questions on GCR, CP and Calvinism

Asked where he stood in his convictions regarding Calvinism: “I really don’t believe that human beings are ever going to completely reconcile the sovereignty of God and the free will of man. Newly elected Southern Baptist Convention President Bryant Wright wants to see Southern Baptists return to their first love, radically reprioritize their lives, funding... Continue Reading

PCUSA General Assembly committee leadership finalized

The leadership of the 18 committees for the Presbyterian Church (USA)’s 219th General Assembly has been announced. According to Presbyterian News Service, the committee leadership (M = moderator; V = vice-moderator; A = committee assistant; P = parliamentarian) is as follows: · Bills and Overtures: M – Elder Heath Rada (Western North Carolina); V –... Continue Reading

PCUSA Assembly commissioners will consider a new Form of Government

The nFOG Task Force recommends sweeping changes to the life of the denomination, and the Presbyterian Coalition, along with the Presbyterian Renewal Network, is urging commissioners not to approve the recommendations. One of the more significant issues coming before the 219th General Assembly is the proposed revision of the Presbyterian Church (USA)’s Form of Government... Continue Reading

BP disaster gives PCUSA overture new meaning

Assigned to one of the social justice committees, the overture just might be a hot topic in light of the ongoing BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. When Bayou Blue Presbyterian Church authored an overture advocating for coastal wetlands and successfully guided it through South Louisiana Presbytery and on to the General Assembly,... Continue Reading

Former commissioner to PCUSA Assembly offers ‘GA HELP’ to this year’s class

In anticipation of the first “paperless” Presbyterian Church (USA) General Assembly, Charlotte, N.C. pastor and 2008 GA commissioner Robert Austell wants to ensure that participants are fully equipped for the strenuous week. Hoping to help GA commissioners sort through an immense amount of information on dozens of complicated issues, in addition to an exhausting schedule... Continue Reading

Reyes-Chow Elected PCUSA GA Moderator

The Layman Online reports that the Rev. Bruce Reyes-Chow, of San Francisco, Calif., was elected moderator of the 218th General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (USA) on June 21, 2008.  He was elected on the second ballot with 55 percent of the vote, after receiving 48 percent on the first ballot. Moderators must be elected... Continue Reading